Christmas Eve

Northern Lights this picture has little to do with Christmas and a lot to do with lights in the night up north.  That’s what Christmas is for me these days.  Meeting with the lights of my family up north in Michigan.

Northern Lights this picture has little to do with Christmas and a lot to do with lights in the night up north. That’s what Christmas is for me these days. Meeting with the lights of my family up north in Michigan.

After half a bowl of Nutty rice and blueberries for breakfast I hung around with the family and watched some more old home movies, where I watched myself and couldn’t help but notice how physically active I was and how normally large I was. How graceful I was on the ski slope and how cute and adorable we all were as kids. It’s always a good idea to remember back and see how the facts jibe with the history that I created.

My sister Jeanny invited me out to lunch and we found a local place and I ordered a bowl of chili and a spanakopita. Jeanny and I are probably the two biggest colluders around food in our family and certainly the two biggest people in my family. I definitely reached a place of being done with both the chili and the spanakopita and plowed right past to finish it up. I was more aware of being done with the spanakopita then i was of the chili. There was a place where I stopped eating and wasn’t talking and looked down and I think I even had the thought I could be done now, put my fork down and returned to the conversation. Then a few minutes later I was eating it again and I don’t remember starting. That place of unconsciousness I need to tune into. That is interesting territory to explore and to look at the decisions that get made there.

Dinner was at Helen’s and it was a lovely Christmas Eve fare. We had some delicious ham, yams and beans with a lovely salad. I chose a moderate amount initially and by that I mean less then I would normally have piled on my plate and more then 1/3. I enjoyed the conversation at the table and managed to stay more conscious of my food then I would normally have done. I did return for an unneeded piece of ham and half a spoon of yams and justified it as being
Christmas and all. I think I wanted an excuse to stand up after sitting at the table for awhile and heading back to the buffet was as good an excuse as any and most others had also gone back for seconds so why not me. Clearly a bunch of silly and unconscious excuses.

Still lots of stuff to learn when it comes to eating around family. However I am celebrating how conscious I am able to be. I am quite thrilled actually.

Leave a Reply

