What to do when a cold is forming?

Spark People blog entry. Thought I would post it in both blogs. It is about consciousness after all. – Henry

I like this picture and have used it before, except this time I am not in my jammies I am headed out for some cardio.

I know that I am in the early stages of a cold. I have the cough and the rough throat and flem and mucus in eyes ears and throats are forming. It is rainy and grey outside and very unappealing for walking or swimming. I know that I can still walk, swim or ride the stationary bike when I have a cold and that I will do one of them. I just don’t know which. I am about to go into town on an errand and I could easily stop at the pool on the way back home, swimming is my favorite exercise and it is the one that I feel most threatens to make my cold worse. Walking to the post office is my newest commitment and I have done it a couple of times now and the likelihood of getting caught out in the rain with the wrong gear is daunting. So Karen and I have ordered some good rain gear for walking in the rain that will be both breathable and waterproof. The exercise bike is my least favorite and the warmest and least contributing to the cold option. Ahhh the dilemma I find myself in.

Here’s what I am going to do. I am going to take my swim gear with me and head into town to do my errands. If the weather is more improved in town I will stop and do a swim. If it sucks there too I will come home. When I get home, depending on the temperature and likelihood of rain I will make my decision instantly hike or bike and go right to it without collecting 200 bucks or passing GO.

Boy this commitment to exercise can get complicated when you have so many different chattering options battling for attention in the head. Fortunately there are some voices and practices that are growing in strength to counter the ones that ultimately insist I just give up and recline somewhere.

So cold or not I am off to burn calories somewhere.
Later fans.

One response to “What to do when a cold is forming?

Leave a Reply

